Spokane, Washington: 96 miles NW

Coeur d'Alene, Idaho: 91 miles N


  • State bird: mountain bluebird (Sialia arcticia)
  • State flower: Syringa (Philadelphus lewisii)
  • State tree: Western White Pine (Pinus Monticola  pinaceae)
  • State fruit: Wild Huckleberry
  • State fish: Cutthroat Trout
  • State gem: Star Garnet
  • State motto: "esto perpetua"; from Latin, meaning "be eternal"
  • State song: "Here We Have Idaho"; adopted in 1931

Bovill, Idaho: 11 miles E

Elk River, Idaho: 28 miles E

Clarkia, Idaho: 26 miles NE

Kendrick, Idaho: ​16 miles  SW

Juliaetta, Idaho: 20 miles SW

Facts and Symbols:

Lewiston, Idaho: 44 miles SW

Troy, Idaho: 12 miles W

Genesee, Idaho: 32 miles SW

Palouse, Washington: 32 miles NW

Potlatch, Idaho: 22 miles NW
St. Maries, Idaho: ​54 miles N

For more information on recreational activities, please see the "Recreation" tab!

Moscow, Idaho: 24 miles W

Rolling Hills of the Palouse

Pullman, Washington: 34 miles W

Idaho, with a population of 1,754,208 (2018 Census), earned its statehood on July 3rd, 1890. Boise is the state capital. 

For more information about Idaho government, please navigate to their website.

Smaller, Nearby...

Idaho - The Gem State

Latah County Courthouse (1889-1958)

Latah County


Latah County, in the northern Idaho Panhandle, along with Whitman County, Washington to the immediate West, constitute the Palouse region. Known for the rolling farm fields, the Palouse produces a large share of the nation's  wheat, barley, oats, lentils, and peas.  There are two major universities in the Palouse region: the University of Idaho in Moscow and Washington State University in Pullman, Washington. 

Incorporated cities of Latah County include Bovill, Deary, Genesee, Juliaetta, Kendrick, county seat Moscow, Onaway, Potlatch, and Troy. Unincorporated communities include Avon, Cedar Creek, Farmington, Harvard, Helmer, Howell, Joel, Princeton, and Viola. 

For more information on Latah County, please visit their website.